LIFE by Sophisticated Youth

Quote of the DAY

Posted on: May 28, 2009

Smiles

Smile. You can’t be unhappy when you’re smiling.”

The other day, a friend at work asked me, “Do you ever get depressed?” I told her, everybody does from time-to-time, nobody’s perfect. And she asked, “What do you do if you’re unhappy?” I said simply, “Smile. You can’t be unhappy when you’re smiling.”

Don’t wait for something good to happen for you to smile. Just smile and you’ll make something good happen to smile about. 

Everyday is a new day full of new life and fresh opportunity. Neither the past nor the future are real, they’re just made up of images we hold in our minds. The only thing that’s real is this moment. It’s called the present because it is a Gift. 

So when you have a bad day, when nothing seems to be going your way, don’t bring it over to the next day. Let it go. Some choose to remain unhappy while others take what they needed to learn from to make tomorrow beautiful. That’s the power of choice.

Just remember Shakespeare said it best, “There is nothing either good or bad but thinking makes it so.” 

I was reading this book and they had a story about the huge earthquake that struck LA in the nineties. The freeways had crumbled and traffic was crazy. CNN was interviewing people in the standstill traffic and it was very revealing to hear the different responses. They knocked on the first window and the person responded angrily, “I hate California. First there were fires, then floods and now an earthquake! No matter how early I leave in the morning, I’m going to be late for work. I can’t believe it!” Then the reporter knocked on the window of the car behind him and asked him the same question. This guy was all smiles. He said, “It’s no problem. I left my house at 5 am. I don’t think my boss can ask for more than that. I have lots of music cassettes (in the 90s) and my Spanish-language tapes with me. I’ve got my cell phone. I have coffee in a thermos, my lunch. I even brought a book to read. So I’m fine.” 
This story is a perfect example of the Shakespeare quote.

So choose to smile. A conscious smile is a powerful thing…

… and it’s contagious. Start an epidemic.

= )

Leave a Reply

